For those of you who don’t know…

The Fifa World Cup is the most prestigious sporting event on Earth, the one everyone’s been waiting for! A football tournament in which 32 nations take part in every four years with this year’s contest starting on the 14th June in Moscow against Russia and Saudi Arabia.  Russia will be the hosts this year which means that 64 matches will be played across 11 different Russian cities and the champions will be crowned on the 15th July at Luzhniki Stadium!

When did it begin?

Fifa’s third president Jules Rimmet was the innovator behind the first ever world cup which began in the 1930’s in Uruguay with 13 teams taking part.  Only four of these countries were from Europe due to the long and costly trip across the Atlantic Ocean.  The decision to host the games in Uruguay was based on the fact that they were two-time official world champions who were also due to celebrate their independence in 1930.  This year’s tournament marks 21 years.

How does a country qualify for the World Cup?

Not including Russia (who qualify instantly as hosts), the other 31 teams had to go through a two-year process in order to participate in the World Cup with England being the only home nation to make it! High profile nations who are missing out this year are the USA, the Netherlands, Chile, Cameroon and even Italy who have won the World Cup four times! Iceland, however, will take part for the first time and are the smallest country to have ever qualified! The qualification process involved 210 countries and 872 matches

Who has been predicted to win this year?

It’s difficult to predict who will win the tournament this year, although Germany who are the current champions are expected to do well along with Brazil, France, Spain and Argentina!

How are the winners decided?

The 32 counties have been divided into 8 groups of four teams (please see below for this year’s groups) where each of the teams will play each other in turn. The top two teams from each group will then be put forward to the final rounds.

Group A:

Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay  

Group B:

Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran  

Group C:

France, Australia, Peru, Denmark  

Group D:

Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria  

Group E:

Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia  

Group F:

Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea  

Group G:

Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England  

Group H:

Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan  

Which players will we get to see?

Expect to see loads of premier league stars as well as the world’s two best players Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo! France and Spain will be bringing Paul Pogba and Alvaro Morata and Iceland will be bringing Gylfi Sigurdsson!

How are the winners rewarded?

The winners are rewarded with all sorts including medals, hero status and of course a huge financial bonus as well as the Fifa World Cup trophy which is made of 18-carat gold.

Do people dress up for the World Cup?

Absolutely! Support England or a country of your choice with our range of costumes and accessories! England Fancy Dress  

From left to right: England Supporter Wig, England Flag Tunic, Silver Sequin Top Hat, Red Sequin Top Hat, Silver Sequin Trilby Hat, Red Sequin Trilby Hat